Mission Accomplished!

Posted: August 30, 2013 in #31WriteNow Challenge, General Interest

Day 31 of the #31WriteNow daily blog challenge is finally here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did 30 posts, and met my add-on rantless challenge. I stopped ranting and did more observing. I blogged about my three true loves, 1. Civil rights, 2. Denzel Washington, 3. Idris Elba (a character in DGG is based on his swagalicious fabulousness). I did frivolous posts and serious posts. I blogged about my Mom’s computer dilemma; update-she got the one she wanted and is computing like a champion. There were simple posts consisting of poetry from Langston Hughes and J. Rumi. I only skipped one day, and ending up writing two new Detroit Get’s Gladiated posts when I was supposed to be taking a break. Then I blogged about that lol. Near the end of the challenge I got desperate and did a post that was essentially just a screenshot from my Facebook page. I gained some new readers and virtual friends, and I appreciate everyone’s moral support and comments.

Many of the posts were written from a chaise lounge facing the Detroit River, at my fav place, the Detroit Riverwalk. I did this post from there yesterday, where I watched eight young ladies in frothy sherbet colored ball gowns and eight young men in snow white tuxes sitting on the fountain in front of the merry-go-round taking Quinceañera pics side by side with a bus load of serious looking Amish people in traditional bonnets and long beards. That unexpected clash of cultures made my eyes happy. That’s the melting pot view of Detroit that visiting  journalists and photographers always miss.

During the challenge I sometimes worried that I’d run out of ideas but fortunately I never did. I’m taking a break for a few days. Thanks so much for reading.

20130831-081545.jpg

Comments
  1. LaVell says:

    proud of you.

    Like

  2. Thank you. Nice seeing you yesterday xxoo

    Like

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You did so well on the 31-Day Challenge. Luvvie would be proud of you. I’ll miss you’re daily posts, but look forward to them at least twice a week, yes?

    Like

  4. Petronia says:

    Super Great!! You did REAL GOOD, as we knew you would. Thanks forthe daily stimulus of thought and love. Looking to the next installment. (By the way, saw Denzel last night. Smile!!!

    Like

  5. zoerabbit says:

    I really enjoy your writing! Can’t wait to read what you come up with next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

