Stereotypes, Myths, and Generalities

Posted: August 24, 2013 in #31WriteNow Challenge, General Interest

UnknownTrue Confession, I wish I were a cultural anthropologist. I’m fascinated by every aspect of ethnicity, culture, and racializaton (not really a real word, but let’s pretend that it is). The good the bad, all of it, the progress, the setbacks. The “colorization” of the lens loaded with stereotypes, myths, and generalities  through which we view the world.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a Nigerian author whose style of writing is so precise and lyrical, her novels read like poetry. Her observations about cultural identity offer a different twist on the generalizations we so easily make.  Her latest book of fiction, “Americanah” is a bi-continental love story and gives us an insider’s view of what it’s like to be a Nigerian in America, and all the “racializing” that it entails.

Her talk on TED, tells her personal story. Check it out here.

She is my idol. Her book was SO good I didn’t want to finish it. I tried to read it as slowly as possible, but I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next. She’s high on my list of those with the skills to always tell a riveting story.

Day 24, #31WriteNow daily blog challenge. Only 7 days to go. The countdown begins (doesn’t that sound dramatic lol).

Comments
  1. resurgee says:

    Thanks for the video link. I just requested the book from the library! Re: the countdown. Oh my … you have 31 days of rant bottled up. Let’s see, how do you type the sound of an explosion??

    Like

  2. I SOO loved her Ted Talk and will have to get her book.

    Like

  3. PETRONIA says:

    I loved her talk!! Her book is on my “must read list.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

