My New Rantless Life-Rants Uwritten and Unsaid

Posted: August 12, 2013 in #31WriteNow Challenge, Current Events, General Interest
Future Blogger

Future Blogger-The only things missing are a briefcase and a laptop

Due to the fact that I joined the #31WriteNow  blogger’s challenge to post daily in August (it’s day 12), and then I decided to also try to keep this month rant free, I’ve had to resort to desperate measures.

Okay, I just gotta do this.  Even my powerful Denzel vision of happiness couldn’t stop this. Soooo, I’m just gonna start this lil list of things I WOULD rant about if only I hadn’t sworn off ranting this month. HINT: I’ve discovered the joys of the sneak rant and the group rant on Facebook. LOVE IT! If you’re curious, about the information included in this post, click on any of the links below, and visit the articles, and then if you want, YOU CAN RANT FOR ME lol.

I know this list is might grow. So that means I can get updated multiple posts from it. That’ll help me with my 31 day posting challenge.

1. Kevyn Orr’s comments to the Wall street Journal have been written about on the blogs for Forbes magazine, and CBS news, and almost every Detroiter’s Facebook and Twitter page, and fortunately most follow-up articles from the media were sympathetic to the City, and not to Mr. Orr. Even the national media, which never passes up a chance to diss Detroit seemed to know that this was NOT the time to slam the City. I wanna say something about this soooo bad. But I’m NOT. I’ll just gently say (in a soft Captain Kangaroo reading to children voice) that it’s fascinating  how this man so easily talks like some VERBALLY ABUSIVE PARENT, about The City he’s supposed to be taking care of .

2.Queen Oprah getting dissed in Switzerland This was interesting on a few levels, the fact that now that Oprah has re-embraced her ethnicity, (she’s got that natural hair look going and she’s in The Butler) and she got dissed, people’s reaction’s are so all over the map. Just because Ms O is more loaded than just about everybody on the planet doesn’t mean she’s always gonna get the treatment she and her money deserve. Racism and rudeness go hand in hand. I like the way she flexed her indignation about this.

3.Conservatives slamming Queen Oprah for having an opinion about Trayvon  and Emmett Till. Of course, nobody really cares about what conservatives think, except other conservatives, but it’s interesting to me that the people who don’t even remotely understand what it’s like to navigate the planet day in and day out as a Person of Color, feel it’s appropriate to dictate, or even comment,  how we’re supposed to feel. Not ranting, just commenting.

20130810-120059.jpg4.Trying not to rant is kinda HARD. I’m not ranting or whining, just stating a fact. It feels like my finger is always hovering over some pause and delete button in my brain, stopping every rant-filled thought that comes up. I now live in edit mode.

5.I don’t even think keeping a rant list is helpful-it’s not like I’m gonna go back and retroactively rant about these things later, like in September, when the rantless challenge is over.

I’m so sorry this was a whiny, complainy post. I’m allowing not ranting to make me crabby. You’d think after my mystical, metaphysical post yesterday On God and Karma, I would have learned something. I better go back and read it again and again, and again…

Asante sana

Comments
  1. Great post, Shannyn. Keep up the good work on the un-rant. It’s good for karma:)

    Like

  2. zoerabbit says:

    I love this! You’re adorable trying not to rant! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

