On God and Karma

Posted: August 11, 2013 in #31WriteNow Challenge, General Interest

From The Theory of Karma, by Ven. Mahasi Sayadaw:

Karma is the law of moral causation. The theory of Karma is a fundamental doctrine in Buddhism. This belief was prevalent in India before the advent of the Buddha. Nevertheless, it was the Buddha who explained and formulated this doctrine in the complete form in which we have it today.  The Pali term Karma literally means action or doing. Any kind of intentional action whether mental, verbal, or physical, is regarded as Karma. It covers all that is included in the phrase “thought, word and deed”. Generally speaking, all good and bad action constitutes Karma. In its ultimate sense Karma means all moral and immoral volition. Involuntary, unintentional or unconscious actions, though technically deeds, do not constitute Karma, because volition, the most important factor in determining Karma, is absent.”

 From The Bible, on cause and effect:
Luke 6:31

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Matthew 7:12“So whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.

Galatians 6:7
Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.”

20130810-120045.jpgThis is a true story, I’m not making this up: A year ago, I had a day filled with bad energy and misfortune. I blamed it on the full moon, but actually most of it was self-inflicted. By late afternoon I was EVIL, and I realized I needed to turn things around. I sent out a silent appeal “please send me the opportunity to do some good.” Five minutes later I stood in line at the ATM outside my bank. The women in front of me left her card in the slot and unknowingly walked away. I literally snatched it out, followed her in the bank, and handed it to her. I didn’t stay for a thank you.  I was a little stunned, and I didn’t question this opportunity that arrived so quickly after my request. Who do you think arranged it? Karma, God, and does it matter?” Could it have been just a convenient coincidence? Is there a difference? We like to say “we send our prayers up”, and “send our Karma out.” I’m sure religious and spiritual scholars would have a field day with this concept.

I’m just curious, what do you all think about this?

Today is Sunday, day 11 of the #WriteNow Daily blogging challenge. Namaste.

Comments
  1. Naomi says:

    Shannyn, I pretty much believe there’s no such thing as coincidence, and I’m a strong believer in Karma. In the instance you gave I believe it was the universe responding to your plea to have a change of heart in the form of a good deed. It was really good that you were mindful.

    Like

  2. resurgee says:

    I too believe in Karma, at least as it pertains to me. I try really hard to be careful what thoughts, words, and deeds I put out into the universe. It’s a challenge sometimes but I keep trying.

    Like

  3. Resurgee, I agree, it can be really challenging to self direct thoughts and actions, I was really struggling with this yesterday, and I wasn’t really succeeding lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

