The Challenge

Posted: August 3, 2013 in #31WriteNow Challenge, General Interest

This month, Awesomely Luvvie, my favorite blogger in the whole wide world (bowing down) challenged herself to post on her blog everyday. Then she challenged everyone else calling it the  #31Write Now blog challenge; instructing us to tweet the link to our daily posts. Never one to run from a challenge, I’m in!!! Then, me, being my usual over achiever self decided to expand the challenge by also promising not to do any ranting posts for the WHOLE MONTH. Kinda like a stretch goal.

We’ve had a REEAALLLY stressful summer. Truly rant-worthy. Lots of rantable crises and social injustices. I posted at least 5 rants in July. But I’m gonna make it through August “rant-free.” I’m gonna be a rantatarian.

20130802-205124.jpg

“We love to rant”

It’s not a good idea to rant so easily and so often. People who are always in hyper-rant mode are irritating and end up sounding like Cornel West and Tavis Smiley. These two Kings of Crabbiness rant so often I’m not sure anybody even listens to them anymore. We’ve seen what happens when you let loose a poorly thought out rant, hello Mr Lemon.  The opposite of the hyper-rant is the well-timed ninja sneak attack rant that you receive from someone who never rants. Their rant is so smooth, you don’t even realize it’s a rant till you hear the feedback when the mic hits the floor. Their rants are always impactful and on point. After the rant, they vacate so swiftly  you’re speechless. Someone really close to me posted an award-winning mic drop worthy rant about Detroit’s dismal political landscape on Facebook this week. It was most excellent because it was unexpected. I would have posted it here but that woulda been cheating, like a rant-by-proxy. Plus she would have killed me for putting her business out in the virtual streets.

So I’m going ” rantless.” I can’t guarantee I’ll make it past Detroit’s Tuesday Mayoral election primaries without just a lil mini rant but I’m seriously gonna try. Now I know what you’re thinking: “Shannyn this whole post today is mostly about ranting.” But check this out, it’s ABOUT ranting but I’m not ranting about ranting lol. Sneaky huh!?!?!?!?!?

If I post anything that sounds ranty, leave me a comment. Anyone who catches me gets a free mention in the next Detroit Gets Gladiated Scandal post on Thursday. So when you’ve got a minute, check back. I’m posting daily. I can’t guarantee they’re all gonna be very long, good, or even mildly interesting lol. We’ve got 28 days to go.

Comments
  1. I think everyone should think about a rant-free month. Good idea.

    Like

  2. PETRONIA says:

    LOL!!!! I once thought LOL meant ” Lots of Love”.
    So today it means both.

    Like

  3. Pauline says:

    I like the idea. Reminds me–I once had a person tell me she was on a complaint free diet. For one month she did not complain. At least that was her intent. Seems to me that breaks from any routine activity/way of being offers up new possibilities for perceiving and responding. Oh! Maybe you can blog about what it is like to not rant. Love, love, love, your blog.

    Like

  4. You’re doing a brave thing here… The anti-rant. I’m rooting for you, Shannyn. You can do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

